Binaural Beats For Helping TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) Symptoms


A Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) can range anywhere from a mild concussion to a severe head injury such as a wound that breaks through the skull.

I recently had a Subarachnoid Brain Hemorrhage in September of 2019. Most of the initial symptoms such as severe pain throughout my body, problems walking, as well as nausea, and difficulty seeing went away after a month.

However like many people who have a TBI, several symptoms that I am now experiencing didn’t show up until weeks after my initial injury. This is the case in my experience where many new symptoms began around six weeks after my brain hemorrhage.

The symptoms I have experienced in the weeks since the original brain bleed have included:

  • Inability to sleep more than 2 hours at a time
  • Unable to hear music – I can hear the sound of the music, however there is no melody and I am unable to hear the notes
  • Low mood, ranging from mild to severe depression
  • Negative personality changes
  • Difficulty with speech
  • Bouts of dizziness
  • Migraines
  • Unable to understand what people are saying, I have to ask people to speak very slowly and clearly without mumbling
  • No motivation to do anything
  • Unable to read
  • Unable to spell correctly
  • Food that I normally like tastes different now
  • Things smell different than usual to me
  • General mental fogginess

Unfortunately, I have also been unable to work on my studies. I am currently working towards getting a Master Herbalist Certification, and since my brain injury I have not been able to do any of my schoolwork. I also design crochet patterns, and I have been unable to do this as well. Normally the software I use for creating crochet patterns is easy for me and very enjoyable to use, however I am unable to make sense of it.

Due to my interest in Holistic Medicine, I did some reading about Binaural Beats and how sound can actually help to form new neural pathways in the brain, and I felt that possibly this could help me with the symptoms I am experiencing from a TBI. Here is an article from Medical News Today that explains how Binaural Beats work.

There have been some small scale studies using Binaural Beats in helping people with a TBI, and some of the results seem very promising. Here is a link to a study done by the Monroe Institute which used a small study of people recovering from traumatic brain injury that experienced dramatic improvements in their symptoms.

I have been using Binaural Beats for the last five days for one hour a day in the morning. I have already noticed a dramatic improvement in my mood and motivation. I have also been able to sleep for a full night; up until this week I have not had a full night of sleep since I had my brain injury. I plan to continue using the Binaural Beats for a few weeks however what I have experienced so far has been very promising.

I am unsure if using the Binaural Beats has actually done anything physically measurable in my brain, and possibly the positive shift in mood and motivation is due to the fact that I am being proactive about my health. These positive results could possibly be a placebo effect caused from me having found something that may actually help me in coping with the very difficult symptoms of a TBI.

I will be posting in the next few weeks to update on whether or not my symptoms have improved even further. Dealing with a TBI is quite devastating, it has robbed me of myself and it’s difficult going from a normal functioning happy person with my mental faculties intact to being unable to think or speak properly and being in deep depression.

Here is a YouTube link below to the Binaural Beats I have been using with headphones for one hour a day each morning.

Prairie Sky Wellness

3 thoughts on “Binaural Beats For Helping TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) Symptoms

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started